34 Essendon players guilty of doping, banned for 12 months

Essendon's worst fears have been realised with 34 past and present players banned for the entire 2016 AFL season by the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

After the club was booted out of the 2013 finals and the club fined $2 million, the AFL's Anti-Doping Tribunal last year decided no further punishment was required.

However the World Anti-Doping Agency appealed that decision, with the Court of Arbitration for Sport deciding in WADA's favour.

The 34 players involved, which includes 12 still at Essendon and five on lists at other AFL clubs, were given two-year bans backdated to March 31 last year.

The suspensions will end on November 13 this year, meaning they will all miss the coming season.

Captain Jobe Watson is among the players still at the club, with his 2012 Brownlow Medal win now likely to come under scrutiny.

The others still on the Bombers' list are: Dyson Heppell, Cale Hooker, Michael Hurley, Tom Bellchambers, Heath Hocking, Travis Colyer, Michael Hibberd, Ben Howlett, David Myers, Brent Stanton, Tayte Pears.

Those at other clubs are: Paddy Ryder and Angus Monfries (Port Adelaide), Jake Carlisle (St Kilda), Stewart Crameri (Western Bulldogs) and Jake Melksham (Melbourne).